On The Beach
 

Proper Solid by Steven Oliver

Jute Theatre Company
Posted in Local Events @ Apr 8th 2014 12:51pm - By Administrator

From July 25 to August 9, enjoy Proper Solid by Steven Oliver. Catch Proper Solid at Jute Theatre.

Steven Oliver presents an inspirational future vision of the Republic of Australia where the country’s First People populate claimed lands and tall poppy Paul Toppy, is your everyday Aboriginal President of Australia. The problem is Paul doesn’t know much about being Aboriginal.

A humorous story, brimming with aboriginal vernacular and optimism, about how things are, what they could be and the importance of remembering your roots.

Paul Toppy is your everyday Aboriginal President of Australia. The problem is Paul doesn’t know much about being Aboriginal. All that changes, however, when, one day, while on the election trail, Paul steps onto country.

Paul is flung back to 2013, where disgruntled, and not to mention highly inconvenienced, he happens on a family of not-quite-so-tall (obviously unrelated) Toppys, who welcome this new (obviously crazy) Toppy into their home and their lives. During his time with the Toppy Clan, Paul starts to question his beliefs about family and identity, and begins to discover the true meaning of success, while the family learn what might be achieved with higher aspirations.

Oliver’s dialogue crackles with black humour and hope, and the meering of present with future results in some highly entertaining moments as the esteemed Paul Toppy encounters a past he’d rather forget.

In the tradition of ‘Bran Nue Dae’, ‘The Sapphires’, ‘Redfern Now’ and ‘Mabo’, ‘Proper Solid’ joins a rapidly growing genre of contemporary Aboriginal story-telling which has an irresistibly wide appeal.

If you are planning to attend this event, you may want to book your stay at our Cairns Beachfront Accommodation. Our accommodation is just a few minutes away from Jute Theatre.

Our 2 Bedroom Beachfront Apartments are designed to capture the ocean breezes through open windows and large balcony doors. Well appointed, spacious, fully self contained apartments that feature two separate bedrooms, living area, two bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen with full size fridge, diswasher, microwave, oven and cooktop. The private balcony provides beautiful views of the beach and ocean. Each apartment has air conditioning, private laundry, phone, TV including free Austar cable TV, stereo and DVD player.

To book our Cairns Beachfront Accommodation, please go to http://onthebeachapartments.etourism.net.au

Image Source : JUTE Theatre Company
 

Comments

There are currently no comments.

Add Your Comments

All comments will be submitted to the administrator for approval.

 
To prevent spam, please type in the code found in the red box to verify you are a real person.
 
  Required fields